Questions? We want to hear from you. 314-982-1562


The People Behind the Progress

The St. Louis Regional Freightway Alliance is comprised of three committees; the Needs Analysis and Freight Development Plan Committee, the Marketing Committee and Policy Committee.  Each committee is chaired by a Council member. The committees assist the Freightway Executive Director with making the St. Louis region a premier freight center in the Midwest through job and economic growth.

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee is responsible for developing, advocating, and setting policy for manufacturing and logistics industries. Regional transformational initiatives include public-private partnerships that support investment in the freight network infrastructure and initiatives that help advance manufacturing and logistic industries within the St. Louis region. This Committee also:

  • Reviews the annual regional economic scorecard and compares indicators to the Freightway’s goals for advancing our region’s economy through manufacturing and logistic industries 
  • Maximizes opportunities of coastal port growth through intermodal rail and container on barge capabilities by partnering with the inland waterway leadership and coordinating with the manufacturing and logistic industry leaders
  • Tracks national, state, and local regulatory/legal issues that may impact the Freightway, while advocating for St. Louis freight within the aforementioned levels of legislation 
  • Develop specific policy recommendations at the local, state, and federal level that will benefit regional freight development

The Policy Committee’s members have earned reputations for knowledge, influence, and interest in policy issues. The Committee is led by Missouri Baptist University Dean and Professor of Education Dr. Ed Hillhouse with Missouri Baptist University.

Cheryl BallMODOT
Dr. Ed HillhouseMissouri Baptist University
Matt HrubesDuke Realty
Steve JohnsonMissouri Partnership
Mike KearneyAmeren UE
Mary LamieBi-State Development
John NationsBi-State Development
Dr. Ronda SaugetLeadership Council of Southwestern Illinois
Colin WellenkampMississippi River Cities & Towns Initiative
Jim WildEast-West Gateway Council of Governments
Kathy OsbornSt. Louis Regional Business Council

Marketing Committee

The Marketing Committee is responsible for developing and implementing marketing efforts that gain the St. Louis region global and national recognition as a freight hub. The Committee also drives regional freight-related business manufacturing and logistics business development efforts.

Marketing Committee members are known for their knowledge and influence in marketing, business devel­opment, and communications. They are led by America’s Central Port Executive Director Dennis Wilmsmeyer.

James AlexanderSt. Louis Regional Chamber
Hal Charles BallHilliker
Rick BarbeeSCF Marine
Nathan ChewRange Logistics
Louis CopilevitzGershman Commercial Real Estate
Rodney CrimSLEDP
Eric GowinContegra
Scott HaleyKP Development
Katie HaywoodCBRE
Tom IrwinCivic Progress
John KomlosARCO Construction
Mary LamieBi-State Development
Ed LampittCushman
David LancasterSt. Louis Lambert International Airport
John LangaBi-State Development
Tim NowakWorld Trade Center
Geoffrey OrfColliers International
Kathy OsbornRegional Business Council
Len ToenjesAssociated General Contractors of Missouri
Dennis WilmsmeyerAmerica's Central Port
Mark WinschelOPUS
Ted ZimmermanBi-State Development
Steve ZuberBarber Murphy

Freight Development And Needs Analysis Committee

The Freight Development and Needs Analysis Committee is responsible for setting regional multi-modal transportation priorities that are used as a tool to advocate for infrastructure funding with public and private sector leaders. This Committee provides opportunities for the region’s supply chain leaders to set infrastructure priorities based on a project’s ability to lower freight transportation costs and optimize the freight network.

The St. Louis region’s movement of goods and services are analyzed annually and compared to the Freightway’s goals for advancing our region’s economy through manufacturing and logistic industries. Priorities for the next fiscal year and action items will be set based on these discussions.

The Freight Development and Needs Analysis Committee is comprised of public sector influencers and supply chain leaders who represent freight-related interests of the St. Louis region’s business community, led by the Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis President Mike McCarthy. Companies not directly affiliated with the supply chain industries are welcomed to attend and participate in committee discussions.

James AlexanderSt. Louis Regional Chamber
Aimee AndresInland Rivers, Ports & Terminals
Joe BannisterSt. Louis County Port Authority
Terry BeachSt. Clair County
Matt BerraFTRL Railway
Jerry BlairEast-West Gateway Council of Governments
Tom BlairMODOT
Richard BrauerIDOT
Neal BreitweiserJefferson County Port Authority
James CampbellUniversity of Missouri, St. Louis
Wendell CampbellKansas City Southern Railroad
Tim CantwellMidAmerica Airport
Dale ChapmanLewis & Clark Community College
Keith CohenDuke Realty
Erick DahlSt. Louis Downtown Airport
Jeff DavisBNSF Railway
Rich DiffleyLange-Stegmann
Lindsey DouglasUnion Pacific Railroad
Fred DyerSt. Charles County, MO
Mark EichenlaubSouthwestern Illinois College
Gary ElmsteadProgress 64 West
Erik EricksonAlton & Southern
Eli FallsNorfolk Southern Corp. Railroad
Katie FederFeder Trucking
John FrederickBoeing
Matt FreixDNJ Intermodal Services
Bill FrerichsFrerichs Trucking Company
Greg FromknechtEmerson
Emily FultzCity of Columbia, IL
Peter GuntherGunther Salt Company
Herb HallProcter & Gamble
Rhonda Hamm-NiebrueggeSt. Louis Lambert International Airport
Mark HarmsLeadership Council of Southwestern Illinois - SITE Committee
Ryan HodgesDuke Realty
Curtis JonesIDOT
Jeff KeirnIDOT
Tim KuebrichLake Drive Logistics
Ik-Whan KwonSt. Louis University
John LangaBi-State Development
Jeff LanterLanter Distributing
Nikki LemleyWashington University
Tom LivingstonCSX Railroad
Don RobisonSt. Louis Community College
Steve MaplesNorfolk Southern Corporation Railroad
Mike McCarthyTerminal Railroad Association
Kevin McIntoshKansas City Southern Railroad
Mike MeyerLouis Dreyfus Company
Dave MillerSt. Louis Regional Airport
Mitch MillsteinUniversity of Missouri, St. Louis
Cynthia MinorSt. Louis University
Barbara MooreUnion Pacific Railroad
Latoya MooreNorfolk Southern Corporation Railroad
Rick OrtylMetro East Industries Inc.
David O'TooleWorld Wide Technology
Kristen D. PoshardMadison County, IL
Tim PowerSCF Marine
Greg PrestemonEconomic Development Center of St. Charles County
Asim RazaTerminal Railroad Association
Brad ReinhardtGiltner Logistic Services
Dave RiggsWatco Companies, LLC
Conor RunkelCN Railroad
Richard Sauget Jr.East County Enterprise
Todd SchuhardtC.H. Robinson
James SembrotAnheuser-Busch
Glen SlaySlay Industries
Robert StockStock Transport
Bill StraatmannFranklin County, MO
Stephanie Leon StreeterSt. Louis County Dept. of Transportation & Public Works
Derek SubletteNorfolk Southern Corporation Railroad
Susan TaylorSt. Louis City Port Authority
Terry TravisAffton Terminal Services
Jennifer McGimseyIngram Barge
Jeff WagonerCSX Railroad
Ken WallerJefferson County, MO
Ed WeilbacherKaskaskia Regional Port District
Cheryl WelgeAmeren UE
Jim WildEast-West Gateway Council of Governments
Otis WilliamsSt Louis Development Corporation
Chris WrightHogan Transportation & Logistics